Site Where Sammy Was Killed

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Site Where Sammy Was Killed

  1. This is the site where my sweet boy Sammy died. These are the electric metal plates, plus the metal lamp posts that we must use extreme caution when walking near them. Please be safe and keep your loved ones, kids, pets close to you. I am just devastated that this has happened to my Sammy, he didn’t deserve to die. He was only enjoying his daily walk. I hope to prevent future tragedies from happening to anyone else. Thank you all for your support.

  2. AD says:

    Thank you for posting this but I’m just baffled. These metal plates are all over the city. So sorry to hear of your loss. Thank you for this website and your efforts to spread the word out in light of what happened to you and your family.

    • I know, exactly, this is what I am trying to research and understand how this could have happened. We are all at risk of contact voltage. If you want to learn a little more about stray voltage, go to http://www.strayvoltagenyc.org, a website that was created in honor and memory of a woman who was electrocuted in the street in NYC from stray voltage and died. It’s so sad, this should not be happening, but it exists and we just need to be informed so that we can be cautious, not afraid, I don’t want to scare people, electricity is a major part of our lives, we walk by street lamps, light poles, cross over these plates-often times unknowingly, everyday. Our public utility companies need to maintain power lines regularly, perform checks, as well as the entire power infrastructure to keep the public safe.

  3. Justin Tomajko says:

    My name is Justin, I work at MudBay downtown. I just wanted to say I am so sorry for your loss and thank you for spreading the word, I will
    Be letting people know about the
    Metal plates. Again, sorry for your loss and I wish you the best. – Justin Tomajko.

    • Thank you so much. I miss Sammy so much, he was my best buddy. Please refer to my blog regularly, I will be working hard to make changes….Sammy and I want to keep people and their pets safe.

  4. Wendy says:

    I am SO SORRY to hear of your loss. I have always wondered why my dogs seem to skirt those grates all over the city, and now I suspect that there may have been a very real reason.
    I have a shorthair named Mr. Chip (Chocolate Chip) who looks a lot like Sammy. It broke my heart to hear this news story, because it struck so close to home. I will be thinking of you two every time we walk, from this day on; and I hope you find some comfort knowing there are so many of us who are thinking of you; thanks to you, and to your sweet guy, we are taking care to watch each step.

    • Thank you so much. I miss Sammy, GSPs are the BEST. He was my best buddy. Please refer to my blog regularly, I will be working hard to make changes….Sammy and I want to keep people and their pets safe.

  5. Beth an Rex says:

    Lisa, I am crushed and heartbroken for you. As a dog mom I can’t even imagine what you’re going through. Wendy said it all. Know that there are so many of us thinking of you and Sammy. He was such a handsome boy and he now walks on “safe streets” with God. Rex (the wonder lab) and I will include you in our thoughts and prayers from now on. Beth

  6. Scott Gibbons says:

    I consider myself a grown man and when my wife and I watched King 5 News the other night and the story came on about Sammy i literally cried my eyes out! Were dog owners and really sympathize for what you’re going through. I think the best thing anyone could do is to start a memorial fund for injured pets under Sammy’s name. Please don’t let the City off the hook for their negligence, in my opinion loosing a Pet in the gut wrenching way uou did is a traumatic experience no one should ever experience! Were feeling for you!.

  7. Tucker says:

    I AM SOOOO SORRY TO HEAR ABOUT YOUR DOG SAMMY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    I JUST READ ABOUT IT AND REARS ARE FLOWING DOWN MY FACE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    DON’T GIVE UP ON THIS SITUATION, GET YOUR CLOSURE BY GIVING HELL TO THESE PEOPLE THAT SAY IT IS SAFE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    IT OBVIOUSLY ISN’T!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    GOD BLESS YOUR DOG SAMMY, R.I.P!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    GOD BLESS YOU AND KEEP FIGHTING FOR WHAT HAPPENED
    UNTIL YOU ARE SATISFIED WITH THE OUT COME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  8. Stacy says:

    Lisa, I just read your story in a news article and was shocked and devastated and am holding back tears as I write this. I work at Trupanion, a national pet insurance company located in Ballard and will do all that I can to spread the word of this type of danger locally and nationally. No one should ever have to go through that sort of experience. I’m so sorry for your loss and commend you for being so strong during this difficult time.
    I wish you all the best and am sure that Sammy is watching over you, thankful for all of the wonderful, loving times that you shared together. Be happy that you were able to give him such a happy life during his time with you.

  9. Vicki says:

    We were horrified to hear of Sammy’s death. I’m so sorry!

  10. Kim says:

    Lisa, my friend forwarded this to me. I live in Queen Anne, frequent the Ave. often w/ my dog. While we don’t know each other, I’m devastated for you. My dog is my love of my life. While I know this sounds trite, please let me know if there’s anything I can do. My thoughts go out to you. You & Sammy are in my heart.

  11. Michael says:

    Sammy is truly in my heart. I hope he is playing with my little buddy, Huri, in a big green field somewhere (She probably won’t share her tennis ball with Sammy, though). I had to have Huri put to sleep about a month ago. I’m typing through my tears. I really feel the pain of your loss.

    Michael

  12. Bryan says:

    Lisa, I am so sorry for your loss. I couldn’t believe the headline when I saw it – and I had to read the story twice before it made some since. (some being the key word) I have a 6 year old Golden Retriever and I walk him daily – and after hearing about this, I want to thank you from the bottom of my heart for hanging in there and spreading the word about these metal plates. I hope it’s some consolation to you knowing that you probably saved some dog’s life (or even a person for that matter) by sharing your experience. I am truly sorry for your loss and I can’t imagine how empty and devastated you must feel at this point. I hope you get the answers and the truth that you are looking for, and deserve. Shame on the City for allowing something like this to happen. God Bless you.

    My deepest sympathies,

    Bryan C., Atlanta, GA.

    PS, When I was living in Tucson a couple years ago, a little boy died when he was electrocuted by a light post at a baseball game – I can provide a link if it will help you in your research.

  13. Derek says:

    This is a heart breaking story. We are animal lovers and have 7 dogs, all of which are best friends.

    How is the city responding? Are they showing concern and showing a willingness to admit fault and pay damages?
    My guess is that quality animal loving attorney would volunteer their services to help.
    Holding the city accountable may save other animals lives in the future.

  14. Brenda says:

    I am so sorry for your loss. I also am a dog owner..I dont know how u r managing such a horrible death that was not necessary..R>I>P> SAMMY

  15. Kirk Morris says:

    I wanted to send my condolences, after reading your story I looked at my buddy (Max) and thought about your dog Sammy. I am sorry your dog passed away. I will be praying for you (I promise) that God will bring you a measure of comfort. Pets are so important to the emotional well being of people they truly are the best of friends.

    Sincerely,

    Kirk Morris

    • Thank you Kirk, I totally agree with you. Sammy was my best buddy, he was the only thing that gave me true happiness in my life because he was ALWAYS happy and so sweet. He loved life and I made sure to give him the best, I just miss him so much and wish his life wasn’t cut short from us. We still had so much fun to look forward to. Thank you again for your sweet thoughts. ~Lisa

Leave a Reply

