My Dearest Sammy……

It has been four days since I last saw you, since our last walk together…I know you’re in Heaven by now, I hope it is filled with those rascally wabbits you so wanted to chase while we hiked through Discovery Park, or maybe you are swimming after the ducks and gulls that you always fixated on while we walked along the Sound. I wanted to tell you again, I will say this everyday until I die, how much I love you and how much you meant to me. Even when you were alive, I told you everyday I loved you and that you were my sweet boy. I used to ask you all the time, “Sammy, how did you get so sweet”? You would always gaze up at me with your big beautiful brown eyes. I knew what you were saying. You were saying, “I’m sweet, because I know how much you love me, you love me a ton”. Yes, you always knew how special you were and still are to me, no matter what. I’ve been asking myself what I miss most about you. I still cannot answer this question, because you had so many wonderful and beautiful personality traits and characteristics, but you also know how handsome you were. You drove all the ladies crazy, remember how so many people would pull over and say how beautiful and handsome you are? Goodness, I thought maybe you’d become conceited after all of these compliments, but you never did, you were only happy to be alive and with us. I will miss the way you purred, your howling at the phone’s ringtone when it would ring, racing in yard until your ears would be turned inside out and I would tell you, “Sammy, fix your hair, silly”. I will miss how you used to smile at me every time I’d walk through the door, I will miss you curled up with me, your playfulness, goofy, loveliness, craziness, intelligence, kindness, sweetness, gentleness, energy, our special hikes and trips together……and more. You were the best thing that happened to me and my life, I have always said you were my soul mate, our friend Charlie calls us, “kindred spirits” and that we had a beautiful relationship. Oh, Sammy I do hope you know that I am missing you so much, and I’m so sorry this terrible tragedy took your life so painfully and too soon. My goal was to always protect you and I felt like I didn’t protect you enough, perhaps you were protecting me this time and it is so like you to do this, you always gave me so much and looked after me. You are a true angel. I always said, “God is Dog, Dog is God”. I love you so much monkey-man, little man, my buddy. I know how much you loved me calling you these little pet names. I miss you and will always remember our great special times together. Together, we are going to help others be safe and protect other four-legged best friends so that they can live a great full life. You loved people and you loved other dogs, I know you would want me to spread the word and make others aware of what you went through, because it can happen again and to anyone and their beloved pets. I will do this for you Sammy. I will be thinking and dreaming of you….Please be safe, I know you are. I love you, buddy. Love, me

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

119 Responses to My Dearest Sammy……

  1. Jan Manning says:

    OMG I am so so so very sorry this happened. I am sobbing right now. I cannot even imagine. I have 2 baby dogs, Taneesha is 14 and Nike is 3. They also know they are loved. I also tell them every day. Sammy got to be so sweet because he was loved so much by you. Sammy sure was a lucky dog to be loved to much. I am praying that you feel some comfort knowing that your story will effect me & all my coworkers…I will tell everyone about Sammy’s story. I do hope that the lawyers will help to make sure that this NEVER happens to anyone EVER again! RIP Sammy! (tears tears tears)

    • Thank you for your sweet thoughts. Sam was the best, I miss him so much. We must protect our pets, loved ones, I will be working very hard to make sure such a tragedy never happens again. Thank you for sharing your beloved dogs with me. Please read my blog regularly as I will be posting updates on my efforts in Sammy’s cause which is to ensure our neighborhoods are safe . Thank you again~Lisa

  2. Doug and Pamela Richardson (dogs: Annie and Stella, cat: Edgar) says:

    We live in N. Seattle, read the news this A.M.. We are truly sorry for your loss. When life throws you lemons, time to make lemonade. Perhaps some ‘common good’ can come from this, either way, sounds like you had a good go of things with Sammy while it lasted. Sammy was lucky to have ya, as any well-cared for pet would … if in time you feel up to it, please consider a rescue/shelter pet as an option. Our entire pack/family is made up of ‘muts’ that found each other some how … peace be with you.

    • Thank you for your sweet thoughts. Sam was the best, I miss him so much. We must protect our pets, loved ones, I will be working very hard to make sure such a tragedy never happens again. Thank you for sharing your beloved dogs and kitty with me. Please read my blog regularly as I will be posting updates on my efforts in Sammy’s cause which is to ensure our neighborhoods are safe . Thank you again~Lisa

  3. Liane says:

    I am so very, very sorry for your loss. I know your pain, as I lost my beloved Vegas a year-and-a-half ago. But the end for him was certainly not as tragic as your poor Sammy’s…I can’t understand how such a horrible thing like this can happen.
    All dogs go to heaven and please be assured your sweet Sammy is there, running like the wind and will wait for the time you are reunited some day.
    Until then I’m sure he’d be more than proud that his mom is fighting to save other dogs (and humans) from this same fate.
    God bless you.

    • Thank you for your sweet thoughts. Sam was the best, I miss him so much. We must protect our pets, loved ones, I will be working very hard to make sure such a tragedy never happens again. Thank you for sharing your beloved dog with me. I’m so sorry for your loss too, it is so painful. Please read my blog regularly as I will be posting updates on my efforts in Sammy’s cause which is to ensure our neighborhoods are safe . Thank you again~Lisa

  4. Michelle S. says:

    I am so sorry for your loss of Sammy. The same thing has been happening here in Toronto over the last couple of years and not much has ever been done about it that I know of, other than Toronto Hydro saying…freak accident. It has happened on more than one occasion! Its not just a Seattle problem. You aren’t alone.

    • Thank you for your sweet thoughts. Sam was the best, I miss him so much. We must protect our pets, loved ones, I will be working very hard to make sure such a tragedy never happens again. I did hear about the dogs electrocuted in Toronto. I am very saddened, this is unacceptable to me and Sammy. Please read my blog regularly as I will be posting updates on my efforts in Sammy’s cause which is to ensure our neighborhoods are safe . Thank you again~Lisa

  5. Edie says:

    I’m so sorry for you and your beautiful boy. Today I celebrate my birthday with my black and white GSP named Karma. When she runs outside I always tell her, “fix your ears, you look silly.” I lost my beloved dog Noir last year to
    liver disease and feel that pain every day. You are turning this tradgedy into something that will benefit others, so I applaud you and grieve with you. Karma send warm hugs to comfort you.

    • Thank you for your sweet thoughts. Sam was the best, I miss him so much. We must protect our pets, loved ones, I will be working very hard to make sure such a tragedy never happens again. Thank you for sharing your beloved dogs with me. Please read my blog regularly as I will be posting updates on my efforts in Sammy’s cause which is to ensure our neighborhoods are safe . Happy Birthday Karma! I bet she’s super sweet and a beauty. Thank you again~Lisa

  6. Meg Walker says:

    I read about what happened to your precious Sammy and it broke my heart. I wanted to write and let you know I’m so sorry for your loss. Sammy sounds like the sweetest dog ever, and that you had such an amazing, loving relationship with him. Our dogs are our family members and to have this happen is truly heartbreaking. Please know that you are in so many peoples’ thoughts and prayers right now. I know that your beloved Sammy is still his wonderful self and waiting for you – and that you will be reunited with him again some day. Bless you……..
    Megan in CA

    • Megan~Thank you for your sweet thoughts. Sam was the best, I miss him so much. We must protect our pets, loved ones, I will be working very hard to make sure such a tragedy never happens again. Thank you for sharing your beloved dogs with me. Please read my blog regularly as I will be posting updates on my efforts in Sammy’s cause which is to ensure our neighborhoods are safe . Thank you again~Lisa

  7. Dana says:

    So sorry for your horrible loss. My thoughts and prayers are with you. I hope you are able to find some solace and peace in the end of this ordeal.

    • Dana~Thank you for your sweet thoughts. Sam was the best, I miss him so much. Please read my blog regularly as I will be posting updates on my efforts in Sammy’s cause which is to ensure our neighborhoods are safe . Thank you again~Lisa

  8. Carol Iliou says:

    Oh my dear, I am so very sorry over your tragic loss…I cannot even imagine how I would cope in this situation. I have six dogs, four of whom are chihuahuas and I can’t even think of how such a magnitude of electricity would attack their precious, small bodies.

    RIP wonderful Sammy and be free at the Rainbow Bridge! God bless you, and what a wonderful thing you’ve done starting this blog in your beloved dog’s honor!

    • Carol~Thank you for your sweet thoughts. Sam was the best, I miss him so much. We must protect our pets, loved ones, I will be working very hard to make sure such a tragedy never happens again. Thank you for sharing your beloved dogs with me. Please read my blog regularly as I will be posting updates on my efforts in Sammy’s cause which is to ensure our neighborhoods are safe . Thank you again~Lisa

  9. Carolyn says:

    I just read the newspaper report. Years ago we used to live on Queen Anne and walk our Corgi along Queen Anne Avenue so this hits close to home. I am so sorry. There really aren’t words to express my sadness when I learned what happened to your wonderful Sammy. I lost my beloved 14 year old Clumber Spaniel, Hamish, this year. I miss him terribly but I do have the comfort of knowing that he lived a long, fabulous life. I can’t imagine losing a dog the way you lost Sammy. Please know that many people are thinking of you and in some small way sharing your grief. You will see your Sammy again on the other side. You are in my prayers.

    • Thank you for your sweet thoughts. Sam was the best, I miss him so much. We must protect our pets, loved ones, I will be working very hard to make sure such a tragedy never happens again. Thank you for sharing your beloved dog with me, so sorry for your loss. It is so painful, but I want to help others learn about this deadly hazard. Please read my blog regularly as I will be posting updates on my efforts in Sammy’s cause which is to ensure our neighborhoods are safe . Thank you again~Lisa

  10. Jose says:

    Oh dear, I’m so sorry for your loss. You’re letter to Sammy really broke my heart. I know there isn’t a way to replace the loss of dear Sammy. The kindness, love, appreciation, trust and affection you shared with him lives on- I really believe that. You are not alone- you’re story has touched hundreds if not thousands. …please take care of yourself and reach out to the ones you love.

    • Thank you for your sweet thoughts. Sam was the best, I miss him so much. We must protect our pets, loved ones, I will be working very hard to make sure such a tragedy never happens again. Please read my blog regularly as I will be posting updates on my efforts in Sammy’s cause which is to ensure our neighborhoods are safe . Thank you again~Lisa

  11. Ani Rights says:

    This is a heartbreaking story…. please make something good come from this..
    contact a local electrician and see if someone will go out there with you and test that site… Once you have proof contact the media and a lawyer… many lawyers out there will take a case and charge a precentage of what can be won in court… if nothing else it will draw media attention and maybe save someones life… Last …Sammy would not want to see you sad…he loved you and still walks with you… so remember the happy times …. and when your ready go save a shelter dog in honor of Sammy …

    • Ani~
      Thank you for your sweet thoughts. Sam was the best, I miss him so much. We must protect our pets, loved ones, I will be working very hard to make sure such a tragedy never happens again. Please read my blog regularly as I will be posting updates on my efforts in Sammy’s cause which is to ensure our neighborhoods are safe . Thank you again~Lisa

  12. Herron Hill says:

    I am so very sorry to hear about Sammy. He sounds like the most wonderful dog. This should never have happened, it is absolutely unbelievable.

    • Thank you for your sweet thoughts. Sam was the best, I miss him so much. We must protect our pets, loved ones, I will be working very hard to make sure such a tragedy never happens again. Please read my blog regularly as I will be posting updates on my efforts in Sammy’s cause which is to ensure our neighborhoods are safe . Thank you again~Lisa

  13. Peggy says:

    I am so sorry about the loss of your Sammy. We have 4 chihuahuas and they mean more to us than some people’s kids do.We truly love them.I do not know how I would handle something like this.But I would start by contacting my Care 2 friends and getting their opinions and probally start a petition of some sort.But I could not accept the answer of it being a freak accident.There was a shorted out area in their electical system and anything or anybody stepping on the plate would have been electricuted.
    RIP dear Sammy

  14. Paula says:

    OMG!!! Losing a pet through an expected illness is painful enough, but to this tragedy is just unimagineable! What a huge tragedy that was. I know how painful it is to lose a pet and to lose one that you were so, obviously close to, is just heartbreaking. You had the bond that everyone should have with their animal. The feeling is priceless and can’t be replaced. Nicknames and cuddles, warmth and love, eyes gazing and tails wagging, there’s nothing that warms your heart than a beloved pet. All the little acts of an animal are loved and will never be forgotten. I have two, granite memorial plaques on my mantel with etched pictures and a little saying from me of my beloved dog, Peaches (Pooper) and our beloved cat, Batman (Batty Boy). It’s such a nice way to memorialize them and to see them everyday!! I’m soooo sorry for your loss of beloved Sammy and my heart aches with you. ♥

    • Thank you for your sweet thoughts. Sam was the best, I miss him so much. We must protect our pets, loved ones, I will be working very hard to make sure such a tragedy never happens again. Thank you for sharing the idea of the plaques, I think I will do something like that for my Sammy. I also was thinking of making an altar and putting on the mantle, this way I can honor him everyday. Please read my blog regularly as I will be posting updates on my efforts in Sammy’s cause which is to ensure our neighborhoods are safe . Thank you again~Lisa

  15. Jessie says:

    I just wanted to say how very sorry I am for your loss and for this terrible accident. I heard about your story on the news, and it absolutely broke my heart. I live in Cleveland and just had to make the difficult decision to say goodbye to my 16-year-old Bichon. Though our stories are very different, my baby was also hurt in an accident, and I completely understand the pain, guilt, and despair you must be feeling. Remember, though, that Sammy is ALWAYS with you. I would not reccommend rushing into anything, but when the time is right another furbaby will help in your grieving process and open your heart all over again. Sammy, I’m sure, would want you to love again. I’m keeping you in my thoughts – once again, so sorry for this terrible loss.

    • Hi there in Cleveland~The story made it all the way there?
      Thank you for your sweet thoughts. Sam was the best, I miss him so much. We must protect our pets, loved ones, I will be working very hard to make sure such a tragedy never happens again. Thank you for sharing your beloved dog with me. It is SO hard to say goodbye, I definitely was not ready to say goodbye to Sam, he was only 6 1/2 yrs. Please read my blog regularly as I will be posting updates on my efforts in Sammy’s cause which is to ensure our neighborhoods are safe . Thank you again~Lisa

  16. Oh Lisa – the news article & your Blog about your beloved Sammy just broke my heart – my love & thoughts are with you. I thought you might find the “Rainbow Bridge” below helpful:

    Just this side of heaven is a place called Rainbow Bridge.

    When an animal dies that has been especially close to someone here, that pet goes to Rainbow Bridge.
    There are meadows and hills for all of our special friends so they can run and play together.
    There is plenty of food, water and sunshine, and our friends are warm and comfortable.
    All the animals who had been ill and old are restored to health and vigor; those who were hurt or maimed are made whole and strong again, just as we remember them in our dreams of days and times gone by.
    The animals are happy and content, except for one small thing; they each miss someone very special to them, who had to be left behind.
    They all run and play together, but the day comes when one suddenly stops and looks into the distance. His bright eyes are intent; His eager body quivers. Suddenly he begins to run from the group, flying over the green grass, his legs carrying him faster and faster.
    You have been spotted, and when you and your special friend finally meet, you cling together in joyous reunion, never to be parted again. The happy kisses rain upon your face; your hands again caress the beloved head, and you look once more into the trusting eyes of your pet, so long gone from your life but never absent from your heart.

    Then you cross Rainbow Bridge together….

    • Thank you for your sweet thoughts. Sam was the best, I miss him so much. We must protect our pets, loved ones, I will be working very hard to make sure such a tragedy never happens again. Thank you for sharing the beautiful poem, it does give me comfort. Please read my blog regularly as I will be posting updates on my efforts in Sammy’s cause which is to ensure our neighborhoods are safe . Thank you again~Lisa

  17. I have several pets and a pet blog. The idea of anything like this happening to one of them is beyond comprehension. It is devastating to lose a beloved pet, especially in such a horrible manner. Thank you for warning others about the possible dangers one could encounter on a walk. Who would even imagine such a thing could happen on an innocent walk? My heart goes out to you in your pain.

    • Thank you for your sweet thoughts. Sam was the best, I miss him so much. We must protect our pets, loved ones, I will be working very hard to make sure such a tragedy never happens again. Thank you for sharing Sam’s story on your blog. Please read my blog regularly as I will be posting updates on my efforts in Sammy’s cause which is to ensure our neighborhoods are safe . Thank you again~Lisa

  18. Karl and dog Asbach says:

    So sorry to hear about your best friend, it makes me want to run home right now and give my dog Asbach a big hug. When I do just that later today I will think of you and Sammy. Here is story I found you may find comforting.

    Being a veterinarian, I had been called to examine a ten-year-old Irish Wolfhound named Belker. The dog’s owners, Ron, his wife, Lisa, and their little boy, Shane, were all very attached to Belker, and they were hoping for a miracle.
    I examined Belker and found he was dying of cancer. I told the family we couldn’t do anything for Belker, and offered to perform the euthanasia procedure for the old dog in their home.
    As we made arrangements, Ron and Lisa told me they thought it would be good for six-year-old Shane to observe the procedure. They felt as though Shane might learn something from the experience.
    The next day, I felt the familiar catch in my throat as Belker’s family surrounded him. Shane seemed so calm, petting the old dog for the last time, that I wondered if he understood what was going on.
    Within a few minutes, Belker slipped peacefully away.
    The little boy seemed to accept Belker’s transition without any difficulty or confusion. We sat together for a while after Belker’s death, wondering aloud about the sad fact that animal lives are shorter than human lives.
    Shane, who had been listening quietly, piped up, “I know why.”

    Startled, we all turned to him. What came out of his mouth next stunned me. I’d never heard a more comforting explanation.

    He said, “People are born so that they can learn how to live a good life — like loving everybody all the time and being nice, right?”

    The six-year-old continued, “Well, dogs already know how to do that, so they don’t have to stay as long.”

    • What a sweet sweet story. thank you for sharing that with me. I am at a toal loss without my Sammy, I am so sad. Thank you for your sweet and warm thoughts. Sammy was truly the best.

  19. Nesli Petrovich says:

    I am so sorry to hear about Sammy. I can’t imagine what you must have been going thru to see your dog in agony. My heart goes out to you and to Sammy. I can’t imagine losing your best friend that way! I’m very grateful you brought this to light as I too, live up on Queen Anne hill & will be very cautious as to where I walk my beloved Pug Max. I couldnt live without him either. I’m very sorry for this tragic unnecessary costly loss.

    • Nesli~Thank you for your sweet thoughts. Sam was the best, I miss him so much. We must protect our pets, loved ones, I will be working very hard to make sure such a tragedy never happens again. Thank you for sharing your beloved dogwith me. Please read my blog regularly as I will be posting updates on my efforts in Sammy’s cause which is to ensure our neighborhoods are safe . Thank you again~Lisa

  20. carri ann says:

    What an incredibly devastating tragedy. I am so sorry for your loss. It must have been horrifying. You have my deepest sympathies and prayers for your healing. I know it will be a long road. Thank you for raising awareness of this. Who would have known such a danger existed.

    • Carri ann~
      Thank you for your sweet thoughts. Sam was the best, I miss him so much. We must protect our pets, loved ones, I will be working very hard to make sure such a tragedy never happens again. Please read my blog regularly as I will be posting updates on my efforts in Sammy’s cause which is to ensure our neighborhoods are safe . Thank you again~Lisa

  21. De says:

    I was shocked and angry to hear about the loss of your beloved Sammy. Something has to be done about this to stop this from happening to another furbaby or maybe a child. Although this has been heartbreaking for you to go through you may have saved other lives.
    Please know that we all feel your pain. I know that Sammy is at the Rainbow Bridge with my 2 beloved dogs – Mickey and Molson. Take care – De.

    • De~Thank you for your sweet thoughts. Sam was the best, I miss him so much. We must protect our pets, loved ones, I will be working very hard to make sure such a tragedy never happens again. Please read my blog regularly as I will be posting updates on my efforts in Sammy’s cause which is to ensure our neighborhoods are safe . Thank you again~Lisa

  22. ken says:

    Lisa Im very sorry for what has happened.I have one of the biggest lumps in my throat I,ve ever had. If there is ever a time where i could reverse time.

    • Ken~
      Thank you for your sweet thoughts. Sam was the best, I miss him so much. We must protect our pets, loved ones, I will be working very hard to make sure such a tragedy never happens again. Please read my blog regularly as I will be posting updates on my efforts in Sammy’s cause which is to ensure our neighborhoods are safe . Thank you again~Lisa

  23. Jan says:

    My heart hurts reading about this tragedy. I am so sorry for the loss of such a special friend. I have 3 dogs that I hug, run and play with and most of all, love on every day. I can’t imagine a day without them. They are by far 3 of the most important lives I share my day with. I lost my first best friend years ago and still think of her every day. It was a long time before I realized I couldn’t fear loving that much again….instead I needed to share my love. When your heart is ready, there will be another friend out there waiting and needing your love. For now, take the time you need to heal. I know Sammy knew how much he was loved, and he loved you for it.

    • Jan~Thank you for your sweet thoughts. Sam was the best, I miss him so much. We must protect our pets, loved ones, I will be working very hard to make sure such a tragedy never happens again. Thank you for sharing your beloved dogs with me. Please read my blog regularly as I will be posting updates on my efforts in Sammy’s cause which is to ensure our neighborhoods are safe . Thank you again~Lisa

  24. Dan Roberts says:

    This is such a tragedy. I have two Jack Russell terriers that are wild, and love to get into every hole, and step into any weird place they can get to. I’m always afraid all of us will get into an accident with so many loose wires, and strange openings. I am so sorry for your loss. I am glad you are honoring your friend with this blog. You bring awareness, and love to many people. Remember all dogs go to Heaven. You will see your friend again one day. Hugs!

    • Dan~Thank you for your sweet thoughts. Sam was the best, I miss him so much. We must protect our pets, loved ones, I will be working very hard to make sure such a tragedy never happens again. Thank you for sharing your beloved dogs with me. Please read my blog regularly as I will be posting updates on my efforts in Sammy’s cause which is to ensure our neighborhoods are safe . Thank you again~Lisa

  25. Laura says:

    I’m sorry, when I lost my Beagle 3 years ago, it took me 3 months until I could even manage my checking account.
    SUE SUE SUE everybody!

    • Thank you for your sweet thoughts. Sam was the best, I miss him so much. We must protect our pets, loved ones, I will be working very hard to make sure such a tragedy never happens again. Thank you for sharing your beloved dog with me. Please read my blog regularly as I will be posting updates on my efforts in Sammy’s cause which is to ensure our neighborhoods are safe . Thank you again~Lisa

  26. Nichole says:

    Lisa, my heart breaks wide open for you. My best friend is also a GSP and I tragically lost my younger one this summer. The loss is the biggest hole, I feel it too and I’m so so sorry. My tears and prayers can’t bring Sammy back, but I too wanted to applaud your courage so that others are warned and hopefully stay safe. His life was meaningful and continues to be in the knowledge you have shared with others. Know your sweet boy is with you everyday still. Peace and love to you and yours.

    • Nichole~Thank you for your sweet thoughts. Sam was the best, I miss him so much. We must protect our pets, loved ones, I will be working very hard to make sure such a tragedy never happens again. Thank you for sharing your beloved dog GSP with me. That’s awful you lost one earlier this year, I’m so sorry. Please read my blog regularly as I will be posting updates on my efforts in Sammy’s cause which is to ensure our neighborhoods are safe . Thank you again~Lisa

    • Roxanne~
      Thank you for your sweet thoughts. Sam was the best, I miss him so much. We must protect our pets, loved ones, I will be working very hard to make sure such a tragedy never happens again. Please read my blog regularly as I will be posting updates on my efforts in Sammy’s cause which is to ensure our neighborhoods are safe . Thank you again~Lisa

  27. Bonnie says:

    I was moved to tears seeing the TV news report last nite, & again reading your blog & the responses today. The words that came up for me looking at Sammy were the same as yours… “beautiful” & “handsome” but it was clear that he was a sweet, sweet dog. My dog has been gone 19 yrs now & we had a full dog’s life together since he lived to 15. He was the best male companion I’ve ever had, & I still miss him! Am so sad for the way this happened, for both of you. Would like to offer you a complimentary energy work session if you’d like some support for your grieving process at any point. You can find me listed in Edmonds under SHENTherapy.info.

    • Bonnie~Thank you for your sweet thoughts. Sam was the best, I miss him so much. We must protect our pets, loved ones, I will be working very hard to make sure such a tragedy never happens again. Thank you for sharing your beloved dogs with me. Thank you for your offer too, so sweet. Please read my blog regularly as I will be posting updates on my efforts in Sammy’s cause which is to ensure our neighborhoods are safe . Thank you again~Lisa

  28. Piper says:

    I’m so sorry this happened to your poor dog and I’m so sorry that you are without your best buddy now, I’m heart broken for you! What a great looking dog he was!

    • Thank you for your sweet thoughts. Sam was the best, I miss him so much. We must protect our pets, loved ones, I will be working very hard to make sure such a tragedy never happens again. Please read my blog regularly as I will be posting updates on my efforts in Sammy’s cause which is to ensure our neighborhoods are safe . Thank you again~Lisa

  29. marni says:

    Thank you Lord that Sammy is running around and playing and having a great time. Thank you that you gave him to Lisa as a special gift, but Lord this gift was taken away too soon. Now Lisa is left alone and her heart is so bruised. I ask that you would show her how Sammy is doing and that your warm arms would hold Lisa as she grieves so deeply. Renew her strength and put back the hope she had when Sammy walked along side her in Jesus’ name
    marni

    • Marni~Thank you for your sweet thoughts. Sam was the best, I miss him so much. We must protect our pets, loved ones, I will be working very hard to make sure such a tragedy never happens again. Please read my blog regularly as I will be posting updates on my efforts in Sammy’s cause which is to ensure our neighborhoods are safe . Thank you again~Lisa

  30. Monika says:

    Oh My god, I’m so sorry. I have two loving german shorthaired pointers, and I know what dear dogs they are! My heart is breaking for you….I’m sending prayers your way and know that GSP’s are so wonderful. I hope you can find it some day to get another, they have huge hearts and I could never have any other type of dogs.. wishing you love and healing…No doubt he is in heaven looking down on you..

  31. I hope you don’t mind but I thought Sammy’sBigHeart subject significant. So I included a link to your blog in my post earlier today. I would hate for anyone else to go through what you and Sammy did. Again, my sympathies on your loss.

  32. Gordy says:

    Lisa,

    I am so saddened by the loss of your Sammy. Tragedies to loved pets sometimes seem the most tragic of all because to them the world is full of happiness and love from their owner and they are oblivious to the perils that may befall them. I have had a pet tragedy of my own and it breaks my heart to know about yours. People like us who love our pets as a family member will always understand the pain and tears that come from an event such as this.

    If knowing that others feel and understand your pain is of any solace, please know that we do share your feelings, although no one as much as you right now. Your tribute to Sammy in your blog is a testimony to your love for him … and he for you.

    I miss my Chopaka every day,
    Gordy (north Seattle)

  33. stephen in Vermont says:

    Words cannot describe the emotional pain I feel. Your loss is huge, the love you shared was unique. I’m so sorry for your loss.

    I hope these tears don’t mess up my keyboard.

    • Stephen~Thank you for your sweet thoughts. Sam was the best, I miss him so much. We must protect our pets, loved ones, I will be working very hard to make sure such a tragedy never happens again. Please read my blog regularly as I will be posting updates on my efforts in Sammy’s cause which is to ensure our neighborhoods are safe . Thank you again~Lisa

  34. M F says:

    My dogs too are my best friends and it is especially nice to have a non-judging companion when you are tackling unemployment and other hard life issues. I would be devastated to lose one of my kids like this and I hope you are compensated for your loss by the city. Hopefully you will find Sammy’s spirit in another companion.

    • M F~I totally agree! Unconditional love and no judgment, they love you no matter what. Thank you for your sweet thoughts. Sam was the best, I miss him so much. We must protect our pets, loved ones, I will be working very hard to make sure such a tragedy never happens again. Thank you for sharing your beloved dogs with me. Please read my blog regularly as I will be posting updates on my efforts in Sammy’s cause which is to ensure our neighborhoods are safe . Thank you again~Lisa

  35. brooke says:

    We live in Queen Anne and have walked down that same portion of sidewalk many times. Such a sad and tragic story.
    I shared the link to your blog on my dog’s blog hoping to spread the word about stray voltage!

  36. Guyla says:

    We are so very sorry for your loss, I can’t even imagine the pain you are feeling. It’s hard enough when you have to make the decision to let them die with dignity, but this was a tragedy that should not have happened. I so agree with you on “God is Dog & Dog is God”. You are in our hearts & in our prayers. There is a wonderful website that truly helped me when I had to lay my best friend “Butch” down, as you I spent $3000.00 in less than a month trying to heal him, he was my first fur-child, that I had to make that decision with, and my grief was surrounded by my feelings of guilt & selfishness & I truly felt that I made him suffer way to long – and not meaning to do so I was just not prepared & I wanted someone else to tell me it was time…. so you might visit this site: http://www.in-memory-of-pets.com May God bless you & help you with your pain.
    You are in our prayers, Guyla, “Bug”, “Baxter”, “Pea” & “Baby

  37. ralphiesmom says:

    Hi, Lisa. I’m so sorry for your loss. What an unimaginably sad thing to happen.

    I lost my girl last February. Her name was Ralphie.

    I’m not sentimental, usually, but the day after she died, I was driving home and saw a rainbow from my house over to Kirkland, going across the lake. I know she was on it.

    It helps me a lot now when I look up and see big puffy clouds, I know she is with me again.

    • Thank you for your sweet thoughts. Sam was the best, I miss him so much. We must protect our pets, loved ones, I will be working very hard to make sure such a tragedy never happens again. Thank you for sharing your beloved dog with me. I’m so very sorry for your loss, I bet she was super sweet and a love-bug. Please read my blog regularly as I will be posting updates on my efforts in Sammy’s cause which is to ensure our neighborhoods are safe . Thank you again~Lisa

  38. Old Kitty says:

    Me and my cat Charlie came over from Jan’s Funny Farm. We are so horrified and saddened by such a senseless loss! Buddy was such a beautiful dog and we were heartbroken watching you on the news clip. We think you are doing such a great job bringing whoever was responsible for this (council and electricity company) to book. We hope that Sammy’s loss will not be repeated ever. We are sending you tons of hugs and purrs. Take care xx
    x

    • Old Kitty~
      Thank you for your sweet thoughts. Sam was the best, I miss him so much. We must protect our pets, loved ones, I will be working very hard to make sure such a tragedy never happens again. Thank you for sharing your beloved dog with me. Please read my blog regularly as I will be posting updates on my efforts in Sammy’s cause which is to ensure our neighborhoods are safe . Thank you again~Lisa

  39. Old Kitty says:

    I’m so sorry, of course I meant Sammy – I’m sorry. Buddy is Jan’s dog. I am so so sorry for my mistake. Take care
    x

  40. Louise says:

    I’m so sorry to hear of the loss of your best friend, Sammy. What a horrible way to lose a wonderful dog. I recently read a book that might give you comfort, Sight Hound by Pamela Houston. Your relationship with Sammy is similar to the main character’s, in that you had a complete and unrestricted love for your dog that was similarly reciprocated.

    I wish you only good memories and an excellent lawyer who will prevent this from happening in the future. Best wishes.

    • Louise~Thank you for your sweet thoughts. Sam was the best, I miss him so much. We must protect our pets, loved ones, I will be working very hard to make sure such a tragedy never happens again. Thank you for sharing the book recommendation. It sounds like a book I’d enjoy, though it may make me cry! Please read my blog regularly as I will be posting updates on my efforts in Sammy’s cause which is to ensure our neighborhoods are safe . Thank you again~Lisa

  41. Theodora says:

    I read about your dog in today’s paper and I am so sorry. I lost my own dog when she was 10. I think she was poisoned. You never really recover from a tragic loss, but our pet companions are able to move on much easier than us. Your friend is not gone, but your relationship with him is now different. I’m sure he will continue to be a part of your life and will be part of you forever. I wish you support during this difficult time. There are some good books out there and people you can talk to that understand. I hope you are able to find comfort in your memories and knowledge that you loved this dog with your entire heart, that in and of itself is a gift. Animals help us to learn to love others. Don’t blame yourself; you had no way of knowing it was unsafe.

  42. Poodlemania says:

    I could not get through your words to Sammy without crying. Sammy will live on forever in your heart and yes, he knows how much you loved him. And when you’re ready, there’s another dog out there just waiting to be loved by someone as wonderful as you. Not to replace your dear Sammy, but to be the next fortunate soul to feel this much love. Best wishes.

  43. Barbara Raisbeck says:

    Lisa ,

    i’ve been receiving responses to your blog posts via e-mail; it warms me to see the outpouring of love and support that you and Sammy have. i wish there was more that we could do, as another reader said, turn back time.

    on another post someone had said that maybe dogs need to wear rubber sole booties when they walk. it seems shoes is what keeps humans who walk on those metal plates from getting electrocuted. Sweet Sammy would be so proud of his mama for speaking out and working to keep others safe. Let us know how we can help. This problem that took your beloved soulmate from you needs to be corrected without delay.

    You are in my thoughts.

    A big hug!
    Barbara

    • Barbara~Thank you for your sweet thoughts. Sam was the best, I miss him so much. We must protect our pets, loved ones, I will be working very hard to make sure such a tragedy never happens again. Thank you also for sharing my blog, spread the word! Please read my blog regularly as I will be posting updates on my efforts in Sammy’s cause which is to ensure our neighborhoods are safe . Thank you again~Lisa

  44. Barbara Raisbeck says:

    i’ve been receiving responses to your blog posts via e-mail; it warms me to see the outpouring of love and support that you and Sammy have. i wish there was more that we could do, as another reader said, turn back time.

    on another post someone had said that maybe dogs need to wear rubber sole booties when they walk. it seems shoes is what keeps humans who walk on those metal plates from getting electrocuted. Sweet Sammy would be so proud of his mama for speaking out and working to keep others safe. Let us know how we can help. This problem that took your beloved soulmate from you needs to be corrected without delay.

    You are in my thoughts.

    A big hug!
    Barbara

  45. LoveOliveDog says:

    Oh Lisa. My heart aches for you and tears stream down my face. I am fortunate to have my beloved Pointer Sister, Olive asleep on the bed under (one of) her favorite blankies. As I read your first entry on the blog dedicated to Sammy, I feel so conneted to you. Olive, is 4.5 years and such a playful silly girl. She is my heart and soul and I can’t imagine my life without her. She fills my heart with such love and devotion. I too, have many nicknames for Olive, all of which she answers to. Every night when I finally get into bed, I pray with her. As I am praying she lets out an deep exhale snuggles into the covers a little deeper. Tonight when I go to bed, Olive and I will say a special prayer for you and another one for Sammy. Someone once told me that when our beloved furry friends pass, they are still with us. They are surrounded by all the things that make them happy and especially able to be with us all the time. They can see us. We cannot always see them. So, when you weep because Sammy isn’t right there next to you, he is and he’s probably cocking his head and furrowing those Pointer brows and saying, “Mommy, don’t cry. I’m right here. Come on! Let’s go on that hike. We always have so much fun. I love you and want you to know that I’m just fine. So, why are your so sad?” Much love and blessings to you. Sammy is eternal love.

  46. Lorena says:

    So sorry for your loss. I know how wonderful the German pointers(short and wirehair) are as I have worked with many in our animal shelter. They are some of the most kind loving, playful, happy, wiggling Gumby dogs that can twist into acrobatic shapes at times. They seem to have an uncanny ability to bond with people and be your best endearing, buddy. When the time is right for you please know that there are more of these wonderful dogs lingering in shelters and foster homes waiting for their special person. So sorry for your loss, my dogs are like children to me. I know how much it must hurt. Peace to you

    • Lorena~Thank you for your sweet thoughts. Sam was the best, I miss him so much. You’re so right about GSPs! Aren’t they so lovable? We must protect our pets, loved ones, I will be working very hard to make sure such a tragedy never happens again. Please read my blog regularly as I will be posting updates on my efforts in Sammy’s cause which is to ensure our neighborhoods are safe . Thank you again~Lisa

  47. Jerry Boyd says:

    You should seek legal action. They shouldn’t be able to get away with this this gross negligence against public safety. You have incurred high costs of vet bills and trauma of losing Sammy the GSP.

    • Jerry~
      Thank you, Sam was the best, I miss him so much. We must protect our pets, loved ones, I will be working very hard to make sure such a tragedy never happens again. Please read my blog regularly as I will be posting updates on my efforts in Sammy’s cause which is to ensure our neighborhoods are safe . Thank you again~Lisa

  48. Elizabeth says:

    I’m so sorry this happened to your beloved Sammy. I clicked to this post from the article in the Seattle Times and almost starting sobbing reading this entry.

    I looked over all of your postings. I wanted to thank you for spreading the word about this possible danger and of the other people and pets that have been electrocuted to death unknowingly on our city streets. Information is power.

    I hope writing here can ease your pain a little.

    E

    • Elizabeth~Thank you for your sweet thoughts. Sam was the best, I miss him so much. We must protect our pets, loved ones, I will be working very hard to make sure such a tragedy never happens again. Please read my blog regularly as I will be posting updates on my efforts in Sammy’s cause which is to ensure our neighborhoods are safe . Thank you again~Lisa

  49. Barbara Raisbeck says:

    p.s. you letter to Sammy is beautiful – thank you for sharing it with us.

  50. I just read of your terrible loss on a cat and dog blog I follow. I have posted your blog on my facebook page as well as on both my cat and my personal blog. My heart aches for your loss. May the precious memories help the hurt fade, as he will stay with you in your heart forever and may his loss leave a legacy that will prevent this horrible accident from happening again. It is frightening to think about, all the dogs you see out walking in cities are at risk and they don’t even know. Hopefully your blog will help teach people about this…

  51. Gaby Ferreres says:

    Dear Lisa, losing a dog it’s like losing a family member. I do understand and feel your pain. I encourage you to think his death was not in vain, he probably saved a human, a baby, a toddler, or another animar from an equally painful death. He’s a hero and he is in doggie heaven. You will always remember him that way.

    Think of getting a puppy. There is nothing like another buddy to take care of to ease the pain of losing Sammy.

    Take care,

    Gaby

    • Gaby~Thank you for your sweet thoughts. Sam was the best, I miss him so much. We must protect our pets, loved ones, I will be working very hard to make sure such a tragedy never happens again. Someday when I’m ready I’d like to adopt a 2-6 year old rescue GSP dog. Please read my blog regularly as I will be posting updates on my efforts in Sammy’s cause which is to ensure our neighborhoods are safe . Thank you again~Lisa

  52. Melissa Westbrook says:

    I am so, so sorry.

    My cat, Woody, died last Monday suddenly at the vet’s. I knew he was not well (he was 14 and getting more reclusive). It is such a shock to not have him anymore. His sister knows he is gone but still looks for him. You always wish you had done more.

    You gave Sammy love, life and a home.

    What they give us, well, we know in our hearts what they gave us.

    \

  53. Samatra Doyle says:

    Aww, I’m so sorry to hear about your dog–what a gorgeous dog! I recently lost my dog (Tucker, red-tri Aussie) to cancer and it’s just heartbreaking how much one can love a dog. Sorry for your loss, obviously Sammy was very very loved.

  54. Carol says:

    Lisa,
    I am so sorry about what happened to Sammy. Your blog about him is beautiful. I will spread the word about this tragedy to everyone that I know so that it may be prevented in the future to humans and their furry children.

    Rest in peace sweet Sammy XOXO

    Carol

  55. Carol Forman says:

    Lisa,
    I am so sorry about what happened to Sammy. I will send your story to everyone I know so that this tragedy will not happen to any people or their furry children.

    SWEET SAMMY rest in peace, God Bless You XOXO

    Carol

  56. JRZGRL1 says:

    I am so very very sorry for your loss. What a horrible thing to go through. My heart aches for you. It is irresponsible of Seattle and I’m sure other cities to allow something like to happen. My life has been so blessed by the dogs who have been my companions. I hope it is helping you survive this calamity by writing about it & fighting to keep this from happening to some other living being. I know the sadness of losing these beautiful beings but I have never had one die like Sammy did. I would be so angry and so devastated. You have the same big heart that your gorgeous puppy did/has.

    We love you, beautiful Sammy. We hope that you are waiting for your beloved human companion at the foot of the Rainbow Bridge.

    Love and light to you,

    Darlene

  57. JRZGRL1 says:

    Afterthought: I just read how much money this has cost you. Tragedy piled onto tragedy. Has anyone thought about starting a fund to help defray some of the cost? Can I mail you a check? I know you probably don’t want to publish your address & I’m a little hesitant to publish my E-Mail address. It’s late here on the East Coast & I’m blanking on how to make this happen in an effective way. But it’s something that all of us dog lovers could do to help you. I’m so sad. This reminds me of how I felt when I read about Karley, the dog in southern California who was killed by a neighbor. So senseless & so unjustified. Anyway, I’m rambling. I’m thinking of you & Sammy.

  58. Barbara Raisbeck says:

    JRZGRL1 – a paypal acct. could be set up if Lisa is open to that. It’s not too hard to put a link from the blog.

    • Hi Barbara, Thank you for your email, I couldn’t see your blog from this email, not sure what you mean about setting up a paypal account? Thanks so much again for your thoughts and support for my Sammy. I miss him so. Thank you, all my best, Lisa

      • Barbara Raisbeck says:

        Lisa- I don’t think my other message with my website address went though, but a paypal donate button can be added to your blog where people can donate. I was using my ‘daughters of india’ blog as an example – http://barbararaisbeck.wordpress.com/
        In the upper right corner with the photo of the girls is a paypal donate button.

  59. Aditya Simha says:

    I feel so terribly sorry for your loss. Sammy looked like such a cute dog, and I am really sad that you were separated from him in this tragic way. I hope the city does something in order to prevent future mishaps like this.

    Please take care,
    Aditya

  60. Michael says:

    My dog was pointlessly taken from me in the prime of her life as well so I completely empathize with your situation. Senseless, needless, and tragic don’t scratch the surface of the pain you must be in.

    She too was my best friend, confidant, and soulmate. I miss her everyday. I have another dog now and she is special in her own way, but my Brie will always have a special place in my heart.

    I am sorry for your loss and wish you the best.

  61. Paul, Theresa & Chiodo says:

    Just finished reading about Sammy in the paper this morning, unfortunately this is not the first time we have heard about these plates and people’s dogs.
    we’re just up north of you in Vancouver, B.C. and most of the plates that cover electrical wiring are made out of plastic, which doesn’t conduct electricity, seems like this should be a set standard in North America.

    We’ve lost 2 dogs to natural causes and we know how heartbreaking it is when you lose your best friend, we like offer our sympathies and wish you the best, and I certainly hope you suceed in legal action against the City of Seattle.

  62. Jenn C. says:

    I read about your dear sweet Sammy yesterday and wanted to reach out to you and let you know how many people are hurting with you and keeping you and Sammy in their thoughts. It is an amazing bond us humans get to form with our dogs and while it was such a short time y’all had together, I hope you can take comfort from the incredible life you were able to give to Sammy. It sounds like he knew how loved he was. I am so, so sorry for your tradegy. Many tear filled hugs to you.

  63. Kathy and Phoebe says:

    Lisa, I am so sorry for your loss. I too have a dog that I love with all my heart. I hugged her a little bit tighter after hearing about Sammy. Phoebe brings so much joy to my life. Your moving tribute to Sammy really warmed my heart. He had a good life with you if way to short.
    I am glad you are working to get the city of Seattle to own up to this horrible event. You know all your efforts will be in Sammy’s honor! I am sure he is looking down, proud of you!

    Love, Kathy and Phoebe

  64. Lori Potter says:

    I am on my second GSP…there’s just something about a GSP…they know what you know, they feel what you feel…both of mine are/were totally in tune with what you feel, and both are/were very close to being humans, they both were sure that they were human. Buck is buried here on my property along with Katie the Black Lab, I cry every time I go up to their grave sites…Hunter my current GSP is with me always, goes everywhere with me…I’m so sorry about Sammy…it takes so long to get over them, and to lose him as you did is just so terrible and so needless…I feel for you, I will pray for you, Sammy’s with my Buck & Katie in heaven, they will take care of him…Love…Lori…

  65. Mollie's Mom says:

    My dog Mollie and I have you in our thoughts and prayers. Canine family members really make a difference in our lives. I never thought any dog could replace my previous one after his death. After many years Mollie joined our family and she has brought joy to our house ever since.

    Take care

  66. JRZGRL1 says:

    Hello Lisa. I have been thinking about Sammy & you all day & I am crying now. What happened is so incomprehensible. I have lived through the death of many dogs in my life: Snoopy, Gabriel, Joshua, Inky, Dot, Pizzazz, Veil, Riffraff, Shorty, Penny, Rocket, Tipper, & Little Bit who died at the age of 1 1/2 because of underdeveloped heart valves. All of them except Snoopy are buried in my back yard. Most of them have a headstone & a statue (I have been remiss in not getting the headstones for Pizzazz, Veil & Riffraff). But I have never had to go through what you did with Sammy. I hope you will be able to set up the paypal donation button. I would love to help & I’m sure I’m not the only one. Love to you & your beloved Sammy.

    • Hi there, you’re so sweet, thank you very much. Sam was the best. I miss so very much. Thank you for sharing with me about your dogs, I’m so sorry for Little Bit (that is the name of a horse rehabilitation camp for kids with disabilities in Redmond, a good friend of mine volunteers there), any death of a loved one hurts so much. I just wish Sammy didn’t die this way, he should’ve lived for at least another 7 or 8 years, normal age for a dog of his size. Thank you again for reaching out to me. All the best to you. This blog is for Sammy and I will continue to support him in this way and make sure such a tragedy never happens again.

  67. Rhonda Sweatt says:

    I am so sorry for your loss. I too have a dog “Hercules” he is a Bichon Frise and my soul mate..My heart aches for your loss. I can only imagine the anguish you are feeling right now. Please accept this heart felt, sincere hug from me and Hercules today.
    Blessings from Ventura, CA
    Rhonda Sweatt

  68. Pete says:

    I came across the news and was absolutely heartbroken by this. I want to say I can relate to every word you wrote about Sam, yet I know nothing that I feel even remotely fathoms what Sam meant to you. I am sitting here imagining in horror what you had gone through and what I would have felt had it happened to my own dog. Inspite of all that, I earnestly wish to tell you, in any sensible sense of these words, that Sammy came from a different world. For the 6 short years that you guys were destined to be together, he was here in person to tell you that he loved you every moment he spent with you and to hear you say the same. He knew it before he arrived in this world and beyond the moment he was fated to depart…

    I hope you continue to find strength and love in what Sam has left imprinted in your soul (in the shape of his big paw). Beyond the rainbow somewhere in time, I am sure the two of you will meet again. =)

  69. Trista Drake says:

    I am so sorry for your loss, so very sorry. I have been following your story since it broke. I have encouraged other dog owners to call or write the city as I have. I have two beautiful dogs of my own and I can literally feel your pain. My Golden Retriever (Droof) is my soul mate too. He is getting up in years now and I can’t imagine him being ripped from me the way Sammy was ripped from you. Your letter to Sammy was beautiful (and heart wrenching) as I cried when I read it. I truly hope you find your way out from the darkness. Sammy is in heaven looking down on you with the warm smile you spoke of. He knows you protected him always and this unseen tradgedy was not your fault. The love that you gave Sammy during his life is what he remembers. I hope you will get to the point and can let go of the horrifying vision of him dying like that in front of you. This may be the greatest pain you will ever feel but you will get through it. Tons of Seattle dog owners are with you in spirit as you mourn Sammy. God Bless.

    • Thank you so very much for your sweet and warm thoughts for us. Sammy truly was the best, he was such a happy little boy, out for his walk….Thank you for writing to the City, I need everyone’s support, moms, dads, pet lovers/owners, I am going to do all I can to make sure such a tragedy never happens again. Thank you again, I will love and miss Sam forever. ~Peace~Lisa

  70. Leah Anderson says:

    I just read about what happened, and this is the most horrible thing. A dog like Sammy can never be replaced.

    I can tell he was such an incredible dog. I can see the way he holds his ears back, he loves you so much.

    I am so sorry. I am just in tears about this. I know what it is like to love an animal more than anything else, and lose them suddenly and tragically. Nothing hurts as much.

    Thank you for starting this blog to warn others of this danger.

    Sammy is an angel.

  71. Laurie says:

    I am so sorry for your loss, Lisa. I couldnt imagine. Thank you for sharing your story, to help other dog owners save their best friends. My heart goes out to you.

  72. JRZGRL1 says:

    Hi Lisa. I know it’s hard for you without your beloved Sam by your side. He had many good years in him. His death is inexcusable. It simply should not have happened. Carelessness angers me and what happened to Sam was absolutely the result of carelessness. I continue to think of you each day. With love, Darlene

Leave a Reply

