Ode to Sam…..

Sammy, it’s been over 3 months since you were taken from us, just wanted you to know that we think of you everyday and miss you, I know I’ve said this a million times and more, but I can’t help it, you will live in my heart forever my little boy.   Kim wrote me an email last night (remember how you pulled her up the hill at Tiger Mountain last summer?  She is still to this day, forever grateful to you!!), she wished she could take my pain away.  Perhaps my pain will never go away, but I’m sure in time, the pain will subside and get easier, but I will always miss you. 

Today I took my walk at Discovery Park,  I remember how you loved this daily ritual, pointing at the gulls, rabbits, squirrels (turtle too!) and the occasional sea otter that would cross our path and run to swim back to the water.  You watched and pointed ever-so-intently!  I also thought of all the times you used to watch me from the window in the house when I left to go some place you never took your eyes off me until I was out of your sight.  You’d watch me as I did you.  You were the best little boy in the world, I just want you to know how much you are loved and missed, I am trying to stay strong without you…..Here is a little song I heard yesterday that SO reminded me of YOU and your bravery, sweetness and the love you always gave and showed me:

‘I’d Give Anything I Own’  By ‘Bread’ , 1970s

You sheltered me from harm.
Kept me warm, kept me warm.
You gave my life to me.
Set me free, set me free.
The finest years I ever knew,
were all the years I had with you.

And I would give anything I own.
I’d give up my life, my heart, my home.
I would give everything I own,
just to have you back again.

You taught me how to laugh.
What a time, what a time.
You never said too much,
but still you showed you cared.
And I knew from watching you.

Nobody else could ever know,
the part of me that can’t let go.

And I would give anything I own,
I’d give up my life, my heart, my home.
I would give everything I own,
just to have you back again.

Is there someone you know,
your loving them so,
but taking them all for granted?
You may lose them one day.
Someone takes them away,
and they don’t hear the words you long to say.

I would give anything I own,
I’d give up my life, my heart, my home.
I would give everything I own,
just to have you back again;
just to touch you once again.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ode to Sam…..

  1. Darlene says:

    Hi Lisa. Thanks for sharing this beautiful tribute to your wonderful Sammy. Thank you also for continuing to bring electrocution/contact voltage injuries and deaths to our attention. This is something that can and should be prevented.

  2. Hi Darlene, Thank you my dear! I thought it was a perfect song for Sam. And, yes, I can’t stop, I am on a mission 🙂 I will soon introduce my newest members to my family, two rescue dogs, both German Short-haired Pointers, Haley and Max–I LOVE LOVE, LOVE them so much. Funny, I lose Sam in a horrible tragedy and end up adopting two rescue dogs! I miss and will always love my Sammy sweetheart. Max, Haley and Lucy are helping me heal each day….love and hugs, Lisa

Leave a Reply

